Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

Anet’s Daybook December 28, 2009

Filed under: Daybook — anet smith @ 8:00 am

Outside my window… to the east – Mountains. to the west – the mesa. Melting snow. It was a white Christmas in Albuquerque after all.

I am thinking… can’t believe we missed the only blizzard warning Tulsa has ever had and seeing our neighborhood all covered in snow.

I am thankful for… safe travels to ABQ and for all of my friends who were traveling. Also for the hospitality of family.

I am wearing… Jeans and a sweater.

I am remembering… good times we had in Abq. when we lived here five years ago. Can’t believe M & L were just 4 and 6 when we left.

I am going… to have lunch at Blake’s Lot a Burger.

I am currently reading… I did read The Christmas Box the day before Christmas Eve.

I am hoping… to get the house all back together when we get home and to settle in to some good routines for the new year.

On my mind… my last certification test that I need to take at the end of January. I need to be studying some of the Arts and Literature info. Concurrently, I need to be updating my resume and applying for teaching positions for next fall.

From the learning rooms… The boys received some Christmas gifts that will be wonderful learning tools. One to share, a telescope! L received a model of the human body where he can take out all the organs.

Noticing that… there are more local restaurants (that have incredible and inexpensive food) than any place we’ve ever been.

Pondering these words… “Every warrior needs help—that’s what being in a Clan is all about!” Hollypaw reminded him.” From Warriors, The Sight

From the kitchen… There are many wonderful leftovers in the kitchen. Including some of the wonderful Mexican food we had on Christmas Eve and the Prime Rib that my bro-in-law turned into french dip sandwiches.

Around the house… Wow! No matter how hard everyone tries, there is just no way to keep the belongings of 10 extra people tidy.

One of my favorite things… a date with my hubby. D and I walked around the square in Old Town. Missed the luminarios, but it was still nice to be together. The Basket Shop had 45% off nativities.

From my picture journal…

<

San Felipe de Neri Parish in Old Town Albuquerque. Original church started in 1706. Click for information.

We’re rushing to get out of Albuquerque before there is more snow tomorrow through Amarillo and Tulsa.

Update: made it home about one Tuesday morning and was glad we came early. Am just now putting my post in Mr. Linky – he wasn’t up when we left ABQ. Click here to see other daybooks.

 

Leave a Reply

