Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

Anet’s Daybook January 18, 2010

Filed under: Daybook — anet smith @ 9:42 am

Outside my window… lots of mud from the snow finally melting.

I am thinking… that I’m having a hard time thinking about anything and staying focused.

I am thankful for… great conversations with family and friends.

I am wearing… pajamas still, yea for another day off school/work!

I am remembering… how wonderful it was for our family to participate in the Toys for Tots event. We had the wrap-up party last night at church.

I am going… to the Dayspring Outlet. Would like to buy greeting cards for the year and also want to see Valentine things!

I am currently reading… I’m stopping by the library tomorrow to pick up “Shepherding A Child’s Heart”

I am hoping… to meet a friend for lunch this week.

On my mind… Haiti, senate election in Mass.

From the learning rooms… When I was checking folders last week, I found a wonderful essay M. (my 5th grader) had written about a gift you would give someone. He wrote about giving a Bible to drug addicts and the homeless. He talked about how it could change their life, how they should be treated like regular people and the importance of accepting Christ.

Noticing that… teaching kids to shut the bathroom door in a place they feel comfortable is hard!

Pondering these words… A good person produces good words from a good heart and an evil person produces evil words from an evil heart. Matthew 12:35 (NLT)

From the kitchen… I’m having a brain freeze on what to make for dinner.

Around the house… new books and laundry to put away, muddy doggie pawprints

One of my favorite things… leisurely mornings with time for extra reflection, blogging, and tidying up.

From my picture journal…

Cars at last year’s Pinewood Derby. Yikes! It’s already that time again, we better get moving on this year’s cars. Actually, had a convo with hubby about that before he left for work. Our purpose for doing this is him making something with the boys and us coming together as a family for a fun activity. We refuse to pay 6x as much making a derby car as others in our pack did!

Click here to see other daybooks at The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

 

7 Responses to “Anet’s Daybook”

  1. Jocelyn Says:

    Shepherding a Child’s Heart is a great book. Hope you enjoy it! Thanks for sharing about your day.

    Jocelyn
    http://justalittlesouthernhospitality.blogspot.com/

  2. Tamara Says:

    Looks like our window views are quite similar today 🙂

    What a priceless essay to keep treasured!

    ~Tamara

    • anetsmith Says:

      I do treasure it! I scanned it to keep on the computer also. It’s also been a springboard for some great conversations with my son lately.

  3. j Says:

    Noticing that… teaching kids to shut the bathroom door in a place they feel comfortable is hard

    Can’t imagine what made you notice that one! 🙂

    All the kids are outside playing in the backyard. I need to be figuring out dinner. But, instead I am reading blogs, reading book reviews on that Focus on the Family website, and looking up Dierk’s Bentley concert dates… 🙂

  4. Mama Bear Says:

    I think pinewood derbies used to be cars you ride in. I’m just looking at these and admiring the uniqueness of them. Is that a calculator or phone made into a car. Neat!.Sounds like fun.
    About the bathroom: I never close the door when I’m here alone but I wonder if I should because it is a habit that might be embarrassing.
    Mama Bear

    • anetsmith Says:

      We call the wooden ones pinewood derby and the ones they ride in soapbox derby. This pack does both I think. I have to help work on this in just a few hours!


Leave a Reply

