Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

Tuesday Unwrapped April 20, 2010

Filed under: Tuesday — anet smith @ 8:36 pm

This is part of Tuesdays Unwrapped at Chatting at the Sky. I couldn’t get the button to copy, but make sure you visit the site. Take some time to slow down and savor the beauty of the day.

I opened the gift of spontaneity today. Anyone who knows me would probably never use the word spontaneous to describe me, but today it was a gift. I was supposed to meet my Dad at the VA hospital for his CT scan – a two hour van ride for him and a one hour drive for me. I took the day off work and was right on schedule to be early when I got a call that said “Have you left yet?”. I guess the hospital had seen Dad early and he was already on his way back to the VA Center.

Hubby suggested I keep driving the rest of the way to see Dad, but I didn’t want to do that. My aunt saw Dad yesterday and besides hating to drive, I didn’t want to spend the extra money in gas. Since I was almost to where I was supposed to be – I walked around the park and took pictures. It was a beautiful day!

Instead of coming home on the turnpike, I went the back way and talked to a friend while I drove. When I stopped at a post office for directions I got to see 1920s and 30s photos of the town. I love love love history! I found the orchard that I was looking for – the lady at the post office thought someone would be there. I’m sure someone was there – maybe in the house or out working in the field, but the actual place that sells fruits and veggies doesn’t open until June. I wasn’t brave enough to knock on the house’s front door so I just made a mental note to bring the fam back for peaches, watermelon, apples and pumpkins – I can’t wait!

It was a nice drive. I had to slow down for farm machinery and at one cross street I figured out that I was 200 and some streets east (and south) of my house. Ok, after a while I was wanting to be on the quicker road. This not really city/not really country girl can only take so much.

Hubby had called earlier in the day to say he’d still pick the boys up at school and take them to his office, to not hurry home, but do whatever I like. I appreciated that so much! I made it home in time to walk with my sister and then she took me out for dinner. I was extremely disappointed that I didn’t see Dad and the day wasn’t what I expected, but the spontaneity was definitely a gift I unwrapped throughout the day.

 

Leave a Reply

