Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

Found! April 22, 2010

Filed under: Personal,Personal Growth — anet smith @ 3:02 pm

A few weeks ago when I finally cleaned out my closet, I realized most of my shorts and other summer things were missing. We had stayed with my sister before moving into our new home so I was convinced they were at her house. Every few days I’d call her and suggest another spot to look for them.

Around the same time, my hubby lost his wallet. It wasn’t in the normal spot he puts it at night and I was convinced that the previous night when he returned it to his pocket at the restauraunt that it had landed on the floor instead. The two of us searched and searched. He even called the restauraunt. I looked in the spots he had already looked, we tried to replay our steps, we looked in spots it couldn’t possibly be in. After a few desperate prayers, he found it – in a shelf in the closet.

My sister never found the clothes so my new hypothesis was that they were in the attic. So – today that’s were I checked. I knew I had to check the rubbermaid tubs, but there were so many (unlabeled or not labeled well – my fault) and many had other boxes stacked on them or in front of them. After some careful moving and rearranging – much like a puzzle – I opened a tub and there they were! Yea! No need for unnecessary shopping now.

I looked this Scripture up on Bible Gateway

The Parable of the Lost Coin – Luke 15
8″Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins[a] and loses one. Does she not light a lamp, sweep the house and search carefully until she finds it? 9And when she finds it, she calls her friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost coin.’ 10In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”

Hubby and I talked about it when we were looking for His wallet. It just so happens that my church started a sermon series on Luke 15 last week too. I am so thankful that I have been found. What role do I play in searching for others who are lost? Do I search as carefully and diligently as the shepherd with the lost sheep or the woman with the lost coin?

 

Leave a Reply

