Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

No Bake Cookies April 29, 2010

Filed under: Kids,Personal — anet smith @ 8:04 am

When I was in college every weekend I came home my Unkie (see post) made me No Bake Cookies to take back. They were my favorite and still rank in the top. I made them for hubby’s office last week. The boys and I took snacks and then put a jar out for donations for Relay for Life. M is walking with his Boy Scout patrol. The office was so generous and M. exceeded his goal by $50!

Over the years I’ve had batches of the cookies turn out good and others turn out not so good. I’ve discovered that the secret is how long you let them cool. This time I almost let them cool too long and they were clumping together. I added a little milk and they were saved! I guess the magic number is 3 minutes and not 5 minutes. Once cooled, the last three ingredients need to be added pretty instantaneously. Come to think of it, now I’m not quite sure I even put vanilla in this batch!

The picture is of what we had left. Recipe follows.

No Bake Cookies
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup cocoa
1/2 c (1stick) butter or margarine

Add these ingredients to a pan on the stovetop, mix together and bring to a boil. Boil 5-7 min. Cool slightly and then add:

1/2 c creamy peanut butter
1 1/2 cups oatmeal (don’t use the quick ones, the regular ones give a much better texture)
2 tsp vanilla

Mix. Drop by spoonfuls on wax paper. Cool

 

Leave a Reply

