Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

Dad May 1, 2010

Filed under: Family — anet smith @ 10:15 pm

I have mentioned my Dad a few times in my Daybook posts. Hubby and I visited Dad today. The boys weren’t feeling too well and I didn’t want to chance them giving something to Dad, so Aunt to the rescue! We’re so grateful!

Hubby and I stopped along the way and had lunch at Red Lobster. We also enjoyed a country drive for the second weekend in a row. I loved seeing the different shades of green in the trees and countryside. There were beautiful yellow, white, and coral wildflowers out. Saw lots of horses, cows, and old barns. The contrast of red barns against the yellow flowers was amazing.

We took Dad his recliner. I hope he uses it and enjoys it. Thank you to M & L for cleaning it this morning. In all we spent about 3 1/2 hours with Dad. I’m always glad to see him safe and being cared for and I was especially grateful to hubby for going today.

I wanted to share this about Alzheimer’s. I’m not sure where I got it so forgive me for not giving credit whre credit is due….

Alzheimer’s is Limited…It cannot steal the memories I have of you. It cannot rob the moments we spent laughing together. Or fade the pictures in my wallet. It cannot weaken faith. Deprive me of peace. Steal my joy. Or cripple hope. It cannot shake my confidence that there is a divine paln though I can’t quite see it from here. It cannot shorten eternal life.

 

3 Responses to “Dad”

  1. I am so glad you made that trip and spent that time with your dad! What you shared about Alzheimer’s is so true and I’m glad you can focus on that. No matter what changes we go through in our lives and with our bodies, Jesus stays the same. What a great point of stability on which to stand.

  2. canearl Says:

    Beautiful post! Love the picture of you guys :).

  3. Pink Says:

    Hey, there’s an OU Sign in the back ground with you and your Dad! He must be in a GREAT place!!


Leave a Reply

