Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

Things I Love Thursday – Relay for Life May 5, 2010

Filed under: Things I Love Thursday — anet smith @ 9:55 pm

Relay for Life. I don’t love that there is a Relay for Life. I wish that there was not a need for it. My Dad and Sister are both cancer survivors. In fact there were more than 14 cases of cancer on my Dad’s side of the family. There are some on my Mom’s side too. I have friends who are cancer survivors (and some friends who didn’t) and I have friends (incl. Dad) who are currently having “spots” checked out.

I do love that people are fighting back. People are educating others and people are remembering.

I love that even kids are joining in. M. joined his Boy Scout’s Relay team and raised a good deal of money!

I love that I’m going to spend next (meaning not tomorrow) Friday night with my family.

If anyone would like more information or would like to make a donation to Relay (benefiting the American Cancer Society), please contact me and I’d be glad to help.

I would love to have a world with more birthdays!

This week, check out Mama Mia for more TILT. I’m so excited that Mama Mia is hosting this week. She is a real life friend and the one who got me into blogging!

 

4 Responses to “Things I Love Thursday – Relay for Life”

  1. canearl Says:

    I love that the kids can help out. It’s such a great cause!

    • anetsmith Says:

      We’re going to be better prepared next year. I’m told that if you completely fill a water bottle with dimes it will equal $100. We’re going to start saving now for next year.

  2. Olivia Says:

    I love that your family is working on something like this together! Happy TILT!

    • anetsmith Says:

      My sister got is involved, but my son made the decision on his own to walk with his scout team. I was so proud of him.


Leave a Reply

