Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

A Compliment and A Memory May 22, 2010

Filed under: Dinner,Family — anet smith @ 12:54 pm

My oldest son, M., gave me the nicest compliment the other day. He said, “Mom, you do a nice job decorating the kitchen.” I especially enjoyed this compliment, because while I’m a decent homemaker, I have never been known for decorating. This was the item that inspired M’s comment

It’s a wood trivet that I bought on clearance at Dillard’s for about $3. I had just given it a good scrub down and put it back on the table before dinner. Here’s a close up of my favorite feature

Lots of tiny pebbles. It kind of reminds me of being at the beach. I did not learn decorating in my home of origin and I also didn’t learn much about healthy eating. I recently found a picture from a cookout at my parents. It was a very yellow and brown meal. (However, I loved those cookouts! This particular occasion was one of our summer visits. Mom and Dad always made burgers, some kind of potato, and corn on the cob at least once during our visits. Now that Mom is gone and Dad is in the VA Center, I really miss those cookouts.) In the past almost 15 years of marriage, I have learned to serve (and like) lots of colorful veggies. This is what I placed on the trivet during a recent meal

M also continued his compliment by saying, “I like the way you change things out.” That was probably in reference to the items in the kitchen window, the ceramic tray on the counter, and the salt shakers. I change them with the season. I haven’t always done this, but I love the kitchen in our new house! This is the first time I’ve had a window above the sinck since Iowa.

The first plant is from hubby’s great-grandmother’s plant. Next to it are Scripture cards (and I change them from time to time), the plant in the middle is from L (from school) for Mother’s Day and the bee things are a gift from Aunt for my birthday. I know all of these things are just “things”, but I do hope one day when my boys remember them and what they enjoyed, that it triggers memories of our family time together. Sometimes just everyday ordinary times are wonderful memories.

 

Leave a Reply

