Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

Washington D.C. July 12, 2010

Filed under: Family,Summer — anet smith @ 10:22 am

Spent two full days in DC doing some vacation sightseeing. It was over a 100 degrees both days so we were wiped out! It was so worth it though. We’re such history buffs and our national treasures are meaningful to the boys now.

I asked the fam what their favorite thing to see in DC was…L said the Lincoln display (including his top hat) at the Smithsonian, M said the Air Space Museum, hubby and I both say Arlington National Cemetary (esp. the changing of the guard and Lee house for me). I had no idea how immense the cemetary was.

I had an uncle who died in Vietnam before I was born – I appreciate hubby snapping this picture.

We drove in each day of our visit and took the subway – that was an experience. Two days just wasn’t long enough to see all we wanted. Next time we’ll plan ahead and try to see the White House and I want to spend an entire day at Mt. Vernon. I am thankful though for seeing what we did and for the spontaneity of the trip. My family rocks!

 

4 Responses to “Washington D.C.”

  1. stephanie Says:

    Great photos! We JUST left there after spending a week! We left just as the weather was getting warmer. It was so nice and cool for our stay. I have yet to blog about it. Still exhausted from the trip/drive home!

    • anet smith Says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll look for your photos. We spent our days not in DC in the Shenandoah Valley. (George Washington surveyed the area). I always find it a treat to be in that part of the country.

  2. Becky Says:

    your pics look like such fun! Micah and I were talking just this weekend about how one day we want to go there with the boys. I was there for my senior trip in High school and he was only been there for a few hours. So many neat and important things from our nations history. I love that!

    • anet smith Says:

      There are so many neat things there, it takes a while for it all to sink in. D commented how he enjoyed seeing so many references to a republic. I did some reading before/after about George Washington. I hadn’t realized that his great grand-daughter had married Robert E. Lee. Learned some other neat things about Washington too, he was quite a leader.


Leave a Reply

