Butterfly Wings

Our Life in Posts and Pictures

Some Summer Recipes July 22, 2010

Filed under: Dinner — anet smith @ 1:52 pm

Sweet Cucumber Salad (from June/July 2010 taste of home simple & delicious)

3 cups thinly sliced quartered cucumber
2 tsp minced fresh cilantro

Dressing
1/4 cup sugar
2 TBS water
2 TBS white wine vinegar (I used red – that’s all I had!)
2 TBS lime juice
1 green onion, thinly sliced
1/2 tsp. salt

In a salad bowl, combine cucumber and cilantro. In a small bowl, whisk the dressing ingredients. Drizzle over sald and toss to eat. Serve with a slotted spoon. 3/4 cup equals 64 calroies, trace fat, 1 g fiber and 1 g protein.

This was so delicious (and quick and easy)! In my opinion there was too much liquid, I may try it reduced next time. I liked having the change from regular salad or plain cucumber too. Both boys ate it.

Ham and Cheese Quiche
(from taste of home freezer pleasers cookbook)

2 pastry shells (9in)
2 cups diced fully cooked ham
2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
2 tsp dried minced onion
4 eggs
2 cups half and half cream
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper

Bake shells according to directions and cool. Divide the ham, cheese and onion between the shells. In a bowl, whisk eggs, cream, salt, and pepper. Pour into shells. Cover and freeze one quiche for up to 3 mos. Cover edges of the second one with foil and bake at 400 degrees for 35 – 40 min. or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean (I like mine more on the done side so I leave a little longer). Let stand 5-10 min. before cutting.

To use frozen quiche: Completely thaw in the fridge. Remove 30 min. before baking as directed. Yields 2 quiches 6 servings each.

The small ham I bought was enough for 4 quiches (2 to freeze for us and 2 for a friend) and one other meal (crockpot ham and potatoes).

 

2 Responses to “Some Summer Recipes”

  1. ham recipe Says:

    I will surely give your ham and cheese quiche a try. I think my kids are going to love it. If they enjoy my ham and cheese feteccini, then this recipe of yours would likely yield a thumbs up for them. You see, my kids are the best critics I have in my kitchen, lol! The eldest attends school now, so the three younger ones make sure they report to their big sis how mom’s recipe for the day turns out as soon as she unload from the school bus! lol!

    • anet smith Says:

      I use both my boys for guinea pigs highly qualified testers for all sorts of things. Hope you enjoy the quiche.


Leave a Reply

